Can Your Employer Buy Your Happiness?

I used to be a fan of more money.  Don’t get me wrong, if I had more money, I would still be a fan, but I realized that sitting in a cubicle and four walls (no windows), more money doesn’t make the walls nicer.  What about a bonus?  Bonuses are cool… but they get lumped into money going out for bills.  So, as much as more money — or perks — sounds nice on the job, no one wants to make $60,000 if they gotta put up with the same bullshit day in and day out!  Or, do you believe that’s what they’re getting paid for?  A higher income for their silence, blind obedience and don’t-give-a-damn attitude? I don’t know about you all, but I don’t work like that.  I need freedom, I need wiggle room and I need to be able to speak my mind.

But if you’re working a metaphoric 9-to-5 (not all jobs start at 9am or even at 5pm), you may not get all of that, depending on the company policy and your dictator of boss.  But if you’re one of the lucky ones, in which, your employer cares about what makes you happy when you’re working, what would it take for you to give years of loyalty to a company?  How could your employer buy your happiness?

As this Inc. article written by Jessica Stillman suggests, mindfulness is one of the best perks a manager or an employer can offer their employees to keep them happy.  It’s in the same boat as this work-life balance we hear so often about.  Now, a work-life balance that allows us to enjoy our work and our lives without having them to colliding on too many occasions, would be one helluva perk to me.  So often, I had to balance my life around my work and that was never pleasant.  I had to learn to adapt to night classes, online classes,  and weekend errands.  You might say, ‘isn’t that everybody else too?’  And that there was the problem.  But is Jessica right?  Do we really just want more managers and employers who are present in the problem with us?  Would that create a sense of unison that will later lead to happiness?  You tell me: can your boss buy your happiness?

 

Leave a Reply

