The Worst JOB I Ever Had

I never had a “dirty” job.  It was never my responsibility to clean toilets or dispose of other people’s garbage.  And to be honest, I’m quite thankful for that. Most of my employment experiences fell in administrative and customer service roles. Interacting and dealing with the public is what I came to know and know very well.  And although those jobs can be very soul – crushing,  it wasn’t entirely what I was doing that made this particular job the worst I had. It was the people I had to work with.

I worked for a small closed pharmacy company located in the West Los Angeles area. And having left a job in which the company closed on itself, any opportunity was a welcoming one.  Or so I thought.  The pharmacy firm was outfitted with 15 people, including the owner and his overbearing administrator.  Two of those people would be leaving that week, shortly after I started.  In the following week, two more people left.  The company would go on and hire an additional body only to lose two more people two weeks after that.  Leavings and goings were common.  Here’s why:

The administrator created a toxic environment in which no one was allowed to ask another coworker to assist on a project or task without her explicit permission.  And because no was allowed to ask for any sort of help except through her blessing, employees began to sabotage one another.  Arguments ensued, physical fights broke out.  Everyone threw each other under the bus.  Overtime was mandatory and if missed, had to be made up.  And everyone was pressured to bring in money in some shape of form. The average employee spent 10.5 hours at the job in which they fought, argued, back stabbed, lied and cheated one another. And this went on for the nine months I was there. I’m not making any of this shit up. 

My day would begin with checking in with the administrstor, checking in with the supervisor,  squeezing past two employees arguing, take five minutes to get to settled and then mentally prepare myself to be bombarded with unreasonable and unnecessary projects for the remainder of the day.  And I did this for nine months before I found another opportunity in which people actually worked together.

I’ve had some pretty vindictive bosses who would intentionally make their subordinates’ lives miserable because they could. But I have had an employer who cultivated a violent and sabotaging culture in which the workers would always be in disarray.  But I learned one big lesson from that ordeal.  Don’t stay. If it’s just a job, leave.  We get so caught up in what a job needs to financially take of, that we forget that work is suppose to mentally take care of us too. That’s why it’s so important to find an occupation you love than one you tolerate. 

Leave a Reply

