Do You Have A Plan?

If I could go back and tell myself younger college self one thing knowing what I know now: discover.

It sounds so simple, so ambiguous, but it would have really impacted my life for the better earlier on. Yes, a college education was a smart investment, but it wasn’t years later I learned what I wanted to do with that college education. If only someone told me to discover all the things that excited me, interest me, that I wanted to try… maybe —

The Failed Grown Up

I mean beside, “Graduate, find a job, make money”.

So many students go into their post-secondary schooling without any sort of plan in place. It’s almost like they’re on autopilot. Going to college or university just seemed like the logical next step after graduating high school, or not finding their dream job after a few years.

There’s also the outside pressure from friends, family, and “experts” to get some sort of degree. It’s like people seem to think that getting some sort of piece of paper will make the job offers come flying in. I’ve even heard the “advice” that it doesn’t matter what your degree is in, as long as you have a degree.

Well, that’s not exactly true.

Now, you don’t need to have a concrete plan, set in stone, laying out every educational and career move you plan to make in the next five years. You should…

View original post 473 more words

Leave a Reply

